Trick or Treat? (Part I)

November 2, 2013 § 15 Comments

Once upon a time, I knew a boy who thought every night was Halloween, and yet, had never been given or even tasted a treat.
One night near midnight, he knocked on my door, “Trick or Trick?
I laughed, “How about a treat?
Nervously, he looked at my treats, then closed his eyes. He had never been offered a treat. He didn’t understand—he thought I was tricking him. Before I could think, he pushed me against the wall. I felt my toes rising to reach his lips, as thoughts fell out my brain, and treats fell out my hands.
Was this a trick, or treat? I could not tell. I knew only I had to have it again.
Then, before I could ask what sort of tricks he was playing, I felt my heart skip three beats…I opened my mouth and realized, he had stolen my speech.
Every night he came with all his tricks, and little by little, the tricks seemed tasty,
and not so unkind. I still remember our last night…
Write me a poem.” He begged.
“I can’t. I love you more than words.”
He laughed, then spun his trickiest trick yet, leaving tear imprints all over my worn down treats.
I locked myself in a dark room filled with his tricks for days, until one morning, a gift wrapped in gold and red ribbon arrived at the door.
Your love,  is the greatest treat you have ever been given.
The note inside the empty box read.
Finally, I understood—
It didn’t matter if he tricked me.
It didn’t matter if he never wanted to taste a single treat. What mattered,
was my love for him was my own, it was the treat he couldn’t trick or taint.
Whether he received, or gave it back, was of no matter,
because the only one who could taste it’s worth, was me.

.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to Trick or Treat? (Part I)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Trick or Treat? (Part I) at Coco J. Ginger Says.

meta

